Record Status

If a My Health Record has been suspended or cancelled you will not be able to access or make changes to that My Health Record.


This page contains information on:

 

How to suspend a My Health Record?

Suspension of a My Health Record is outside the control of the record owner. 

When a My Health Record is suspended, the record owner, their representatives and healthcare providers are not able to access the My Health Record. The only exception will be if a healthcare provider is required to access the My Health Record under emergency circumstances. 

For more information on suspended My Health Records, refer to the ‘Suspended My Health Record’ help page.

 

What happens to a cancelled My Health Record?

A consumer can elect to remove their consent to participate in the My Health Record system and can cancel their record at any point in time. 

Once a My Health Record has been cancelled, no one will be able to see the My Health Record, including the owner or any representatives appointed. Even in an emergency situation, healthcare provider organisations will not be permitted to access a cancelled record. Cancelling a My Health Record will also restrict any healthcare provider organisations from uploading new information or making amendments to existing documents in the My Health Record. 

For more information on the implications of cancelling your My Health Record, go to the ‘Cancelling your My Health Record’ help page. 

For more information on re-registering your participation in the My Health Record system if your record has been cancelled, go to the ’Create a My Health Record for Yourself’ help page.

For more information on re-registering someone else’s participation in the My Health Record system if their record has been cancelled, go to the ‘Create a My Health Record for a Child’ help page.

For further information explore this Help site or visit the My Health Record system FAQs.